Call for Applications/ Nominations


2018 EVA Awards – Call for Applications and Nominations Now Open!

VANL-CARFAC Now Accepting Applications and Nominations for 2018 Excellence in Visual Arts Awards!

All artists and art lovers in the province are encouraged to apply for the 2018 Excellence in Visual Arts Awards.  There have been some exciting new changes to this year’s awards, introducing new award categories that will allow more artists to be nominated and more broadly reflect the visual arts community.

The five categories for this year’s ceremony are:

  • Mary MacDonald Award recognizes an individual or organization whose efforts have helped to sustain and build the visual arts sector;
  • Endurance Award recognizes the consistent dedication and commitment of an artist to their professional practice, and to sustained creative output and performance;
  • Milestone Award celebrates a visual artist who has, in the last calendar year, achieved a significant milestone in their career, through exhibition or presentation, a breakthrough in their practice, or new and innovative exploration;
  • Emerging Artist Award honours the promising start made by an emerging visual artist in the early stages of their career;
  • Critical Eye Award which recognizes a visual arts writer for an exceptional piece of writing on an NL artist in any print or online publication worldwide.

Cash prizes of $2000 are attached to the awards, except for the Mary MacDonald Award, whose recipient receives $1000 and an original work of art.

Applications must be received or postmarked by 5 pm, April 16th. Application forms and full rules can be found here.

As the only awards program solely dedicated to celebrating the achievements of this province’s visual artists, the EVA Awards have become an exciting part of the annual cultural activities in this province. With previous winners from Grand Falls-Windsor, St. John’s, Corner Brook, Fogo Island, Pouch Cove and Robinsons, this awards program recognizes excellence province-wide.

For more information about the EVA Awards, please contact Shelby Millwater at 1-877-738-7303 or

Call for Submissions



Call for Submissions

Project:  Commission of Artwork, The Mary MacDonald Award (The EVA Awards)

Date of Call:  February 9th, 2018

To:   VANL-CARFAC Membership



VANL-CARFAC is looking to engage an artist to produce an original work to be presented as the prize for the Mary MacDonald Award (formerly the Kippy Goins Award).  This award is one of five awards to be presented annually as part of the EVA Awards (Excellence in Visual Art Awards). Offset reproductions will not be considered.



Artists submitting proposals must be up-to-date members of VANL-CARFAC. Individuals may become members at the time of submission. Please, contact the VANL-CARFAC office for details.



1. The artwork must take into account the purpose behind the award, which is meant to honour an individual, group or organization whose efforts have helped to sustain and build the visual arts sector.

2. The artworks must be small in scale. As a rough guideline for applicants, we suggest that you keep proposed works within range of the following measurements:

  • two-dimensional and framed works, approx. 11” x 17”
  • three-dimensional works, approx. 1 ft. sq.

3. The visual artists currently sitting on the VANL-CARFAC EVA Committee will serve as the selection committee to evaluate all proposals and select the artist for this commission.



Submissions can be made electronically via email to (with ‘Mary MacDonald Artwork submission’ in the subject line), or mailed or delivered by hand to VANL-CARFAC, 59 Duckworth St., St. John’s NL, A1C 1E6. All submissions must include the following materials:

  • a written project description, no more than one (1) page in length, stating visual art medium, materials, approximate size and concept of the proposed final artworks.
  • a sketch or some form of visual representation of the concept
  • the artist’s CV
  • up to 10 images, saved as JPEGs, on a PC-compatible CDR or sent via email, of past work (Original artwork will not be accepted.) This should be accompanied by a numbered image list with image title, size and medium, and the JPEG titles should include the artist name and image number (e. Smith_01).


Deadline for Proposals: February 28th, 2018

Selection of Artist: March 15th, 2018

Final Project Delivery Date: May 15th, 2018



Artist fee of $750.00 (firm) to be paid for the completed artwork, payable once the artwork has been delivered. Any shipping costs are the responsibility of the artist.

Please note that VANL-CARFAC retains the right to photograph the artworks in the context of the EVA Awards Ceremony, for the purposes of display in own website, newsletter and other organization materials, including newspaper advertisements congratulating the winner of the award. The artist will be credited in all instances where the image may appear. We will not sell or licence images of the artworks for use by any other organization.


For more information about the EVA Awards program, you can view program information online at or contact the VANL-CARFAC office by phone at 1-877-738-7303 or email, at

1-100 Fundraising Campaign

1 to 100!

One hundred numbers – One hundred donors


Whether you can donate 1 dollar or 100 dollars, we are looking for supporters to fill the board with 100 donations for this year’s EVA awards!

The Excellence in Visual Arts Awards celebrate the achievements of Newfoundland and Labrador’s visual artists and recognize the significant contribution the visual arts make to the vibrant and dynamic culture of the province.   The EVA awards are only possible with the support and generosity of the community, and whether you can contribute a little or a lot, every donation will help to support and celebrate our visual artists, our arts writers and the visual arts community.

To select a spot on the board and make your donation, click on the link below!

Pivotal Point 2017 Recipient – April White