Links

CARFAC and Affiliates
CARFAC National www.carfac.ca
CARFAC Ontario www.carfacontario.ca
CARFAC Manitoba www.carfac.mb.ca
CARFAC Saskatchewan www.carfac.sk.ca
CARFAC BC www.carfacbc.org
RAAV (le Regroupement des Artistes en arts visuels du Quebec) www.raav.org

VANL-CARFAC Member Websites (optional listing)

Robyn Anderson www.robynandersonart.net
Margaret Best www.margaretbest.com
Herb Brown www.birchesgallery.com
Tara Bryan www.tarabryan.com
Marlene Creates www.marlenecreates.ca
Diana Dabinett www.dianadabinett.ca
Audrey Feltham www.atelierwest.ca
William Gill www.williamgill.ca
Jim Hansen www.tiltgallery.ca
Valerie Hodder www.valeriehodder.com
George Horan www.georgehoranart.com
Dominique Hurley www.dominiquehurley.com
Chrissie Kerr www.chrissiekerr.com
Christopher Kovacs www.christopherkovacs.com
Jonathan O’dea www.jonathanodeaart.com
Leona Ottenheimer www.leonaottenheimer.com
Janet Peter www.etsy.com/shop/hiyadollface
Michael Pittman www.newfoundartist.com
Bill Rose www.billroseart.com
Margaret Ryall www.margaretryall.com
Reed Weir www.reedweir.ca
Jean Wills www.jeanhaliburtonwills.carbonmade.com

Copyright
CARCC (Canadian Artists Representation Copyright Collective) www.carcc.ca
SODART (Societe de droits d’auteurs en arts visuals) www.sodart.org

Cultural Sector Organizations
CCA (Canadian Conference for the Arts) www.ccarts.ca
CHRC (Cultural Human Resources Council) www.culturalhrc.ca
CAPPRT (Canadian Artists and Producers Professional Relations Tribunal) www.capprt-tcrpap.gc.ca

Funding Agencies
Canada Council for the Arts www.canadacouncil.ca
Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council www.nlac.nf.ca
ACOA (Atlantic Canada Oppurtunities Agency) www.acoa.ca
CEDP (Cultural Economic Development Program) www.tcr.gov.nl.ca/tcr/services_programs/CEDP
Department of Canadian Heritage Visual Arts Section www.pch.gc.ca/pc-ch/sujets-subjects/arts-culture/arts-vis/index_e.cfm
Department of Tourism, Culture and Recreation www.tcr.gov.nl.ca/tcr
City of St. John’s Arts Jury www.stjohns.ca/cityservices/arts/jury.jsp

Awards and Scholarships NL
Arts and Letters Award www.tcr.gov.nl.ca/artsandletters
St. Michael’s Printshop www.stmichaelsprintshop.com/scholarships/index.html
NLAC Arts Awards www.nlac.nf.ca
VANL-CARFAC EVA Awards click here

Artist Run Centres and Visual Arts Groups NL
Eastern Edge Gallery www.easternedge.ca
RCA Visual Gallery www.rca.nf.ca/gallery.html
St. Michael’s Printshop www.stmichaelsprintshop.com
Gallery 312, Online and Offline. Video art gallery in Corner Brook. www.312.ca
Craft Council of Newfoundland and Labrador www.craftcouncil.nl.ca
L.A.W.N. (The League of Artists of Western Newfoundland) www.leagueofartists.ca
EHAA (English Harbour Arts Association) www.englishharbourartsassociation.com

Artist Run Centres Elsewhere in Canada
Ace Art Inc www.aceart.org
Artcite www.artcite.ca
Articule www.articule.org
Art Metropole www.artmetropole.com
Artspeak www.artspeak.ca
Axene07 www.axeneo7.qc.ca
Dazibao www.dazibao-photo.org
Five Women and Some Art www.fivewomen.ca
Gallery 101 www.gallery101.org
Gallery 1313 www.g1313.org
Gallery 44 Centre for Contemporary Photography www.gallery44.org
Gallery Gachet www.gachet.org
Gallery One-Twenty-One www.geocities.com/gallery121
Toronto Photographers Workshop (Gallery TPW) www.gallerytpw.ca
Grunt Gallery www.grunt.bc.ca
Harcourt House Arts Centre www.harcourthouse.ab.ca
Helen Pitt Gallery www.helenpittgallery.org
Mercer Union www.mercerunion.org
Montreal Arts Interculturels (MAI) www.m-a-i.qc.ca
Native American Art.ca – online gallery www.nativeamericanart.ca
OBORO www.oboro.net
Open Space openspace.ca
Optica www.optica.ca
Or Gallery www.orgallery.org
Plug In Gallery www.plugin.org
Propellor Centre for the Visual Arts www.propellerctr.com
RCAAQ – Regroupement des centres d’artistes autogeres du Quebec www.rcaaq.org
Saw Gallery www.galeriesawgallery.com
Society of Northern Alberta Print Artists www.snapartists.com
Stride Gallery www.stride.ab.ca
Struts Gallery www.strutsgallery.ca
The New Gallery www.thenewgallery.org
Trap/door Artist Run Centre www.trapdoorarc.com
TRUCK Gallery www.truck.ca
Urban Shaman Gallery – Contemporary Aboriginal Art www.urbanshaman.org
Videopool www.videopool.typepad.com/video_pool_home/
VOX www.voxphoto.com
Western Front www.front.bc.ca
YYZ Artist Outlet www.yyzartistsoutlet.org

Public Galleries NL
The Rooms Provincial Art Gallery www.therooms.ca

Public Galleries Elsewhere in Canada
National Gallery of Canada www.national.gallery.ca
Mackenzie Art Gallery www.mackenzieartgallery.ca
Mendel Art Gallery www.mendel.ca
Art Gallery of Calgary www.artgallerycalgary.org
Art Gallery of Hamilton www.artgalleryofhamilton.on.ca
Art Gallery of Ontario www.ago.net
Contemporary Art Gallery www.contemporaryartgallery.ca
Dunlop Art Gallery www.dunlopartgallery.org
Musee d’art contemporain de Montreal www.macm.org
Montreal Museum of Fine Arts www.mmfa.qc.ca
Museum of Contemporary Canadian Art www.mocca.toronto.on.ca
Oakville Galleries www.oakvillegalleries.com
Ottawa Art Gallery www.ottawaartgallery.ca
The Power Plant Gallery www.thepowerplant.org
Presentation House Gallery www.presentationhousegall.com
Southern Alberta Art Gallery www.saag.ca
Vancouver Art Gallery www.vanartgallery.bc.ca
Walter Philips Gallery at the Banff Centre www.banffcentre.ca/WPG
Winnipeg Art Gallery www.wag.mb.ca

University Galleries NL
Sir Wilfred Grenfell College Art Gallery www.swgc.mun.ca/artgallery

University Galleries Elsewhere in Canada
Art Gallery of York University www.yorku.ca/agyu
Blackwood Gallery, University of Toronto www.erin.utoronto.ca/services/gallery
Justina M.Barnicke Gallery, University of Toronto http://www.utoronto.ca/gallery/
University of Toronto Art Centre, University of Toronto http://www.utoronto.ca/artcentre/index.html
Doris McCarthy Gallery, University of Toronto www.utsc.utoronto.ca/%7Edmg
Charles H. Scott Gallery, Emily Carr Institute www.eciad.ca/resources/galleries/chscott
Galerie de l’UQAM www.galerie.uqam.ca
Morris and Helen Belkin Art Gallery, UBC www.belkin.ubc.ca
Leonard and Bina Ellen Gallery, Concordia University www.ellengallery.concordia.ca/2006/index.php

Commercial Galleries NL
Christina Parker Gallery www.christinaparkergallery.com
Emma Butler Gallery www.emmabutler.com
The Leyton Gallery of Fine Art www.theleytongallery.com
Atelier West www.atelierwest.ca
Red Ochre Gallery www.redochregallery.ca
James Baird Gallery www.jamesbaird.com
Spurrell Gallery www.spurrellgallery.com
Elizabeth Burry Gallery www.elizabethsgallery.com
Birches Gallery www.labradorart.com

Annual Art Purchasing Programs
Canada Council Art Bank www.artbank.ca
Provincial Art Procurement Program www.therooms.ca/artgallery/appnl_2006.asp
City of St. John’s www.stjohns.ca/Policies.nsf/wAllIndex/031507C7CE4EFEA3A3256A0A00513C01?OpenDocument

Artist Residencies NL
Provincial Art Gallery, The Rooms www.therooms.ca/artgallery/summer_residencies_2007.asp
St. Michael’s Printshop www.stmichaelsprintshop.com/visiting/index.html
Pouch Cove Foundation www.pouchcove.org

Artist Residencies Elsewhere in Canada
Ted Harrison Artist Retreat www.thars.ca
Gibraltar Point Residency www.torontoartscape.on.ca/about_the_residency_program
Banff Centre www.banffcentre.ca
Centre Est Nord Est www.estnordest.org
Klondike Institute of Art and Culture www.kiac.org
La Chambre Blanche Artist-in-Residency program www.chambreblanche.qc.ca

Arts Training Institutions or Programs in Canada
Sir Wilfred Grenfell College www.swgc.mun.ca/visual/
Anna Templeton Centre for Craft and Design www.craftcouncil.nl.ca/education/annatempleton.asp
NSCAD (Nova Scotia College of Art and Design) www.nscad.ns.ca
Emily Carr Institute of Art and Design www.eciad.ca
Ontario College of Art and Design www.ocad.ca
Alberta College of Art and Design www.acad.ab.ca
University of Lethbridge www.uleth.ca/ffa
University of Calgary www.ucalgary.ca/futurestudents/fa_visualstudies
Concordia University Studio Arts www.finearts.concordia.ca/HTML/studio.htm
York University www.yorku.ca/finearts/visa/index.htm
Georgian College School of Design and Visual Art www.georgianc.on.ca/sdva
University of Windsor www.uwindsor.ca
Brock University www.brocku.ca/finearts
Queens University www.queensu.ca/art/programs_artf.html
Kwantlen University College www.kwantlen.ca/international_ed
University College of the Fraser Valley www.ucfv.ca
University of Regina www.uregina.ca/finearts/
Thompson Rivers University www.tru.ca
Bishop’s University www.ubishops.ca
The Banff Centre www.banffcentre.ca
Klondike School of Visual Art www.kiacsova.ca
The Art Institute www.artinstitutes.edu
Academy of Realist Art www.academyofrealistart.com
Vancouver Institute of Media Arts www.vanarts.com

Professional and Business Resources
Canada Business Service Centres www.cbsc.org
Council for Business and the Arts www.businessforarts.org

Art Publications
Fuse www.fusemagazine.org
MIX www.mixmagazine.com
Border Crossings www.bordercrossingsmag.com
C magazine of contemporary art www.Cmagazine.com
Canadian Art www.canadianart.ca
Espace Sculpture www.espace-sculpture.com
Inuit Art Quarterly www.inuitart.org
New American Paintings www.newamericanpaintings.com
Sculpture www.sculpture.org
Art in America www.artinamericamagazine.com
Blackflash Magazine www.blackflash.ca
CV Photo www.cielvariable.ca
Modern Painters www.modernpainters.co.uk

Artist Safety and Technical Resources
The Art Materials Information and Education Network www.amien.org
Healthy Artist Guide to a Less Toxic Studio www.environmentaldefence.ca/toxicnation/artist/index.htm
Square Feet – the Artist’s Guide to Buying and Renting Studio Space www.torontoartscape.on.ca/squarefeet
Studio Protector Online Artists’ Guide to Emergencies http://studioprotector.org/Home.aspx

Art Blogs and Sites of Note
Independent Media Arts Alliance www.imaa.ca
Centre for Contemporary Canadian Art, The Canadian Art Database www.ccca.ca
Aboriginal Curatorial Collective www.aboriginalcuratorialcollective.org
International Network for Cultural Diversity www.incd.net
Akimbo, national art information site, based in Ontario www.akimbo.biz
Art News Blog www.artnewsblog.com
The Art Blog www.the-art-blog.blogspot.com
Modern Art Notes www.artsjournal.com/man/
Art in Canada www.artincanada.com
View on Canadian Art viewoncanadianart.blogspot.com
Zeke’s Gallery www.zekesgallery.blogspot.com
Artists in Canada – list locating files on artists in libraries across Canada daryl.chin.gc.ca:8000/BASIS/aich/user/www/sf
Canadian Artists, Art Galleries and Resources www.artistsincanada.com
Canada’s Cultural Gateway www.culture.ca
Artexte Information Centre www.artexte.ca
Artpix digital media and video art www.artpix.org
Experiments in Art and Technology www.fondation-langlois.org
Los Angeles Center for Digital Art www.lacda.com
Rhizome online forum for digital art community www.rhizome.org
The Drawing Center www.drawingcenter.org
Art Museum Network www.amn.org
Virtual Museum of Canada www.virtualmuseum.ca
Canadian Institute of Portrait Artists www.virtualmuseum.ca
Terminus1525 www.terminus1525.ca
CCA’s @gora online bulletin www.ccarts.ca/en/agora/
Saskatchewan Arts Alliance www.artsalliance.sk.ca
Visual Arts Alberta www.visualartsalberta.com
Visual Arts Nova Scotia www.vans.ednet.ns.ca
Toronto Artscape www.torontoartscape.on.ca
Artquest UK www.artquest.org.uk
The Artist’s Information Company (UK) www.a-n.co.uk
Apathy is Boring www.apathyisboring.com
Mentoring Artists for Women’s Art www.mawa.ca
OFFOFFOFF – Guide to Alternative New York www.offoffoff.com
Centre for Arts Research, Technology and Education www.carte.org.uk
Agora Gallery, New York www.Agora-Gallery.com