Visual Artists Newfoundland and Labrador

Canadian Artists’ Representation /

Le front des artistes canadiens


:: Excellence in Visual Arts Awards ::

the fifth annual EVA Awards ceremony

Emcee Angela Antle

8pm, May 28, 2010

Lecture Theatre, Level 2

The Rooms, 9 Bonaventure Ave., St. John’s, NL

Limited Seating. Call 1-877-738-7303 to be put on the guest list.

:: EVA Awards reception ::

reception courtesy of the Rooms

Cash bar

All are welcome!

9pm, May 28, 2010

Level 3

The Rooms, 9 Bonaventure Ave., St. John’s, NL

:: Rapid-Fire Artist Talks ::

5 minute artist talks- for members only!

Contact Dave at or 1-877-738-7303

to sign up for your artist talk – space is limited.

10:30am – 12:30pm, May 29, 2010

The Studio, above Auntie Crae’s, Water St.

:: Annual General Meeting::

Business and Election of Officers

Adoption of constitutional Amendments – a copy of the

new wording is included with this notice

2 o’clock pm

The Studio, above Auntie Crae’s, Water St.

:: Evening Social::

B-B-Q at Luben Boykov’s

Garden Foundry and Sculpture park

Food and non-alcoholic beverages provided. BYOB.

6 to 9pm,

70 Cadigans Road, off of Logy Bay Road

Fee $5.00 per person.

(to help VANL-CARFAC cover food costs)

Friends and family welcome!

RSVP 1-(877)738-7303 or

To participate in these activities, memberships must be in good standing. Membership renewals available on-site on May 29, fees payable by cash or cheque

Shortlists Announced for 2010 EVA Awards

ST. JOHN’S NL: The fifth annual Excellence in Visual Arts Awards will take place on May 28th at the Rooms, St. John’s, Newfoundland. The EVA Awards are the only awards program celebrating the visual culture of Newfoundland and Labrador. Says Patron of the Awards, Mary Pratt, “How valued is a prize given to a visual artist? Working for years in the proverbial garret – to be finally noticed? It is as much a blessing as a prize!”

This year’s EVA Awards jury reviewed submissions from across the province, representing a wide spectrum of artistic mediums and styles, from painting to sculpture, installation, conceptual art, fine craft, and printmaking. Visual Artists Newfoundland and Labrador extends its congratulations to all the shortlisted artists for this year’s awards.

The Large Year Award celebrates a visual artist who has enjoyed an exceptional year, with at least one exhibition and critical recognition. Prize: $1000

The Large Year Award Shortlist

Luben Boykov, Flatrock

Michael Flaherty, St. John’s

Helen Gregory, St. John’s

The Emerging Artist Award honours the promising start made by an emerging visual artist in the early stages of their career. Sponsored in 2010 by The Leyton Gallery of Fine Art. Prize: $1000

The Emerging Artist Award Shortlist

Jason Holley, Amherst Cove

Jason Penney, St. John’s

The Long Haul Award recognizes a substantial contribution to the visual culture of Newfoundland and Labrador by a senior artist. Prize: $1000 and a Lifetime Membership for VANL-CARFAC.

There is no shortlist announced for the Long Haul Award. The winner will be announced at the award ceremony on May 28th.

The Kippy Goins Award – so named for the small pieces of wood one throws on a fire to “keep it going” – thanks an individual or organization whose efforts have helped to sustain and build the visual arts sector. Sponsored in 2010 by Drs. Angus and Jean Bruneau. Prize: original artwork by Will Gill.

There is no shortlist for this award; the winner will be announced on May 28th.