10th Annual EVA Award Winners, 2015

Winners announced for the 2015 Excellence in Visual Arts Awards

The tenth annual Excellence in Visual Arts Awards took place on June 5th at the Rooms, St. Johns, Newfoundland. The event was hosted by Sheilagh O’Leary. The EVA Awards are the only awards program solely dedicated to celebrating the work of the visual artists of Newfoundland and Labrador.

Sponsored by LAT49 Architecture Inc., The Large Year Award celebrates a visual artist who has enjoyed an exceptional year, with at least one exhibition and critical recognition. This year’s Large Year Award 2015 went to John McDonald.

The Emerging Artist Award honors the promising start made by an emerging visual artist in the early stages of their career. The Emerging Artist Award 2015 went to St. John’s artist Kyle Bustin. This award was sponsored by Grenfell Campus, Memorial University.

The Kippy Goins Award – so named for the small pieces of wood one throws on a fire to “keep it going” – thanks an individual or organization whose efforts have helped to sustain and build the visual arts sector. The Kippy Goins Award went to the Sharon LeRiche & the Craft Council Gallery. This award was sponsored in 2015 by Perfect Day.

Kent Jones was the winner of The Long Haul Award, sponsored by the Leyton Gallery of Fine Art. The Long Haul recognizes a substantial contribution to the visual culture of Newfoundland and Labrador by a senior artist.

The Critical Eye Award celebrates the best piece of critical writing about an NL artist in any print or online publication worldwide. This year’s winner was Bruce Johnson.

A new addition to this year’s ceremony, in honor of the awards’ tenth anniversary, the People’s Choice Award, was sponsored by Christina Parker Gallery. The winner, chosen by the public through an online voting system, was Mike Gough.

Congratulations to all nominees, shortlisters and winners!