2015 EVA Award Shortlists!

Shortlists Announced for Four of the Six Excellence in Visual Arts Awards

The tenth annual Excellence in Visual Arts Awards will take place on June 5th at the Rooms, St. John’s, Newfoundland. The EVA Awards are the only awards program solely dedicated to celebrating the visual culture of Newfoundland and Labrador.


This year’s EVA Awards jury reviewed submissions from across the province, representing a wide spectrum of artistic mediums and styles.  Below are the short lists for four of the six awards – the Long Haul Award winner and the winner of the newly minted People’s Choice Award will be announced at the ceremony.


The Emerging Artist Award honors the promising start made by an emerging visual artist in the early stages of their career. Sponsored in 2015 by Grenfell Campus – Memorial University. Prize: $2000


The Emerging Artist Award Shortlist
Mark Adams
Kyle Bustin
Joe Fowler


The Large Year Award celebrates a visual artist who has enjoyed an exceptional year, with at least one exhibition and critical recognition.  Sponsored in 2015 by Lat49 Architects Inc.  Prize: $2000


The Large Year Award Shortlist
Michael Gough
John McDonald
Virginia Mitford


The Kippy Goins Award – so named for the small pieces of wood one throws on a fire to “keep it going” – thanks an individual or organization whose efforts have helped to sustain and build the visual arts sector.  Sponsored in 2015 by Perfect Day. Prize: original artwork by Michael Gough


The Kippy Goins Award Shortlist
John and Peggy Fisher
Sharon LeRiche and the Craft Council Gallery
Mavis Penney


The Critical Eye Award recognizes a visual arts writer for an exceptional piece of writing on a NL artist in any print or online publication worldwide. Prize: $2000.


 The Critical Eye Award Shortlist

Bruce Johnson
Martin Poole
Craig Francis Power


For more information or to arrange interviews, contact Program Coordinator, Kathy Oke at vanlcarfac@gmail.com or 709-738-7303. A limited number of seats for the ceremony will be available to the public. To be put on the seating list, please contact the VANL office.