Shortlists Announced for the 2021 Excellence in Visual Arts Awards

ST. JOHN’S, NL:  The fifteenth annual Excellence in Visual Arts Awards will take place online on July 9th, St. John’s, Newfoundland. The EVA Awards are the only awards program solely dedicated to celebrating the visual culture of Newfoundland and Labrador.

This year’s EVA Awards jury reviewed submissions from across the province, representing a wide spectrum of artistic mediums and styles.  Below are the short lists for three of the five awards – the winners of the Endurance Award (Prize $2000) and Mary MacDonald Award (Prize: $1000 and an artwork by Molly Margaret) will be announced at the ceremony. 

The Emerging Artist Award honors the promising start made by an emerging visual artist in the early stages of their career. Prize: $2000

      The Emerging Artist Award Shortlist

       Alex Antle

       Emily Critch

       Ashley Hemmings

       Ethan Murphy

The Milestone Award celebrates a visual artist who has, in the last calendar year, achieved a significant milestone in their career, through exhibition or presentation, a breakthrough in their practice, or new and innovative exploration.   Prize: $2000

     The Milestone Award Shortlist

       Kai Bryan

       Jessica Waterman

       Nelson White

       D’Arcy Wilson

The Critical Eye Award recognizes a visual arts writer for an exceptional piece of writing on a NL artist in any print or online publication worldwide.  Prize: $2000. 

     The Critical Eye Award Shortlist

       Jenn Thornhill Verma

       Jane Walker


For more information or to arrange interviews, contact Program Coordinator, Kristen Regular at or 709-738-7303. The awards will be viewable live online on July 9th.  For access to the livestream please contact the VANL office.

The EVA Awards are a Visual Artists Newfoundland and Labrador (VANL-CARFAC) initiative.