Shortlist announced for the 2013 Excellence in Visual Arts Awards!

The eighth annual Excellence in Visual Arts Awards will take place on May 24th at the Rooms, St. John’s, Newfoundland. The EVA Awards are the only awards program solely dedicated to celebrating the visual arts of Newfoundland and Labrador.

This year’s EVA Awards jury reviewed submissions from across the province, representing a wide spectrum of artistic mediums and styles.

The Emerging Artist Award honors the promising start made by an emerging visual artist in the early stages of their career. Sponsored in 2013 by Grenfell Campus, Memorial University. Prize: $1000


The Emerging Artist Award Shortlist

Audrey Hurd

Jonathan O’Dea

Michael Young


The Large Year Award celebrates a visual artist who has enjoyed an exceptional year, with at least one exhibition and critical recognition.  Sponsored in 2013 by Sheppard Case Architects.  Prize: $1000


The Large Year Award Shortlist

Audrey Feltham

Michael Flaherty

Ned Pratt



The Long Haul Award recognizes a substantial contribution to the visual culture of Newfoundland and Labrador by a senior artist.  Prize: $1000 and a Lifetime Membership for VANL-CARFAC. Sponsored in 2013 by The Leyton Gallery of Fine Art.


The Long Haul Award Shortlist

Lloyd Pretty

Colette Urban


The Kippy Goins Award – so named for the small pieces of wood one throws on a fire to “keep it going” – thanks an individual or organization whose efforts have helped to sustain and build the visual arts sector.  Prize: original artwork by Michael Pittmann.


The Kippy Goins Award Shortlist

Herb Brown

Community Youth Arts Program

Tina Dolter


The Critical Eye Award recognizes a visual arts writer for an exceptional piece of writing on an NL artist in any print or online publication worldwide. This award is sponsored by Emma Butler Gallery.  Prize: $1000.  There is no shortlist for the Critical Eye.  This year’s winner will be announced on May 24th.


For more information or to arrange interviews, contact Executive Director, Dave Andrews at or 709-738-7303. A limited number of seats for the ceremony will be available to the public. To be put on the seating list, please contact the VANL office.

The EVA Awards are a Visual Artists Newfoundland and Labrador initiative.