Shortlists announced for 2018 Excellence in Visual Arts Awards



ST. JOHN’S NL:  The thirteenth annual Excellence in Visual Arts Awards will take place on June 1st at The Rooms, St. John’s, Newfoundland. The EVA Awards are the only awards program solely dedicated to celebrating the visual culture of Newfoundland and Labrador. 

This year’s EVA Awards jury reviewed submissions from across the province, representing a wide spectrum of artistic mediums and styles.  Below are the short lists for three of the five awards – the winners of the Endurance Award (Prize $2000) and Mary MacDonald Award (Prize: $1000 and an artwork by John MacDonald) will be announced at the ceremony. The Mary MacDonald Award was sponsored in 2018 by Perfect Day.

The Emerging Artist Award honors the promising start made by an emerging visual artist in the early stages of their career. Sponsored in 2018 by Grenfell Campus – Memorial University. Prize: $2000

The Emerging Artist Award Shortlist

   Meagan Musseau
   Melissa Tremblett
   Jason Wells
The Milestone Award celebrates a visual artist who has, in the last calendar year, achieved a significant milestone in their career, through exhibition or presentation, a breakthrough in their practice, or new and innovative exploration. Prize: $2000
The Milestone Award Shortlist
   Will Gill
   Michael Massie
   Michael Pittman              
The Critical Eye Award recognizes a visual arts writer for an exceptional piece of writing on a NL artist in any print or online publication worldwide.  Prize: $2000. 
The Critical Eye Award Shortlist
   Eva Crocker
   David Garneau
   Susan Gibson Garvey
For more information or to arrange interviews, contact Program Coordinator, Shelby Millwater at or 709-738-7303. A limited number of seats for the ceremony will be available to the public. To be put on the seating list, please contact the VANL office.

The EVA Awards are a Visual Artists Newfoundland and Labrador (VANL-CARFAC) initiative.