Shortlists announced for Excellence in Visual Arts Awards

ST. JOHN’S, NL:  The fourteenth annual Excellence in Visual Arts Awards will take place on June 14th at The Rooms, St. John’s, Newfoundland. The EVA Awards are the only awards program solely dedicated to celebrating the visual culture of Newfoundland and Labrador.

This year’s EVA Awards jury reviewed submissions from across the province, representing a wide spectrum of artistic mediums and styles.  Below are the short lists for three of the five awards – the winners of the Endurance Award, sponsored by the Leyton Gallery of Fine Art (Prize $2000) and Mary MacDonald Award (Prize: $1000 and an artwork by Mike Connolly) will be announced at the ceremony. The Mary MacDonald Award was sponsored in 2019 by Perfect Day.

The Emerging Artist Award honors the promising start made by an emerging visual artist in the early stages of their career. Prize: $2000

      The Emerging Artist Award Shortlist

       Pepa Chan

       Hazel Eckert

       Melissa Tremblett


The Milestone Award celebrates a visual artist who has, in the last calendar year, achieved a significant milestone in their career, through exhibition or presentation, a breakthrough in their practice, or new and innovative exploration.  The Milestone Award is sponsored by Lat49 Architecture.  Prize: $2000

     The Milestone Award Shortlist

       Philippa Jones

       Vessela Brakalova

       Nelson White


The Critical Eye Award recognizes a visual arts writer for an exceptional piece of writing on a NL artist in any print or online publication worldwide.  Prize: $2000. 

     The Critical Eye Award Shortlist

       Eva Crocker

       Matthew Hollett

       Kate Lahey


For more information or to arrange interviews, contact Program Coordinator, Kristen Regular at or 709-738-7303. A limited number of seats for the ceremony will be available to the public. To be put on the seating list, please contact the VANL office.

The EVA Awards are a Visual Artists Newfoundland and Labrador (VANL-CARFAC) initiative.