Shortlists Announced for the 2022 Excellence in Visual Arts Awards

ST. JOHN’S, NL:  The sixteenth annual Excellence in Visual Arts Awards will take place on June 10th at The Rooms, St. John’s, Newfoundland. The EVA Awards are the only awards program solely dedicated to celebrating the visual culture of Newfoundland and Labrador.

This year’s EVA Awards jury reviewed submissions from across the province, representing a wide spectrum of artistic mediums and styles.  Below are the short lists for three of the five awards – the winners of the Endurance Award (Prize $2000) and Mary MacDonald Award (Prize: $1000 and an artwork by  Shawn O’Hagan — Sponsored by Perfect Day) will be announced at the EVA ceremony. 


The Emerging Artist Award honors the promising start made by an emerging visual artist in the early stages of their career. Prize: $2000

      The Emerging Artist Award Shortlist

       Emily Critch

       Margie Lewis

       Nasim Makaremi Nia 


The Milestone Award celebrates a visual artist who has, in the last calendar year, achieved a significant milestone in their career, through exhibition or presentation, a breakthrough in their practice, or new and innovative exploration.   Sponsored by Lat49 Architecture.  Prize: $2000

     The Milestone Award Shortlist

       Emily Pittman

       Nelson White


The Critical Eye Award recognizes a visual arts writer for an exceptional piece of writing on a NL artist in any print or online publication worldwide.  Sponsored by Christina Parker Gallery.  Prize: $2000. 

     The Critical Eye Award Shortlist

      Mireille Eagan
      Emily Pittman 
      Ossie Michelin


For more information or to arrange interviews, contact Program Coordinator, Em Nowlan at or 709-738-7303

The EVA Awards are a Visual Artists Newfoundland and Labrador (VANL-CARFAC) initiative.