Shortlists Announced for the 2024 Excellence in Visual Arts Awards

The eighteenth annual Excellence in Visual Arts Awards will take place on June 7th at The Rooms, St. John’s, Newfoundland. The EVA Awards are the only awards program solely dedicated to celebrating the visual culture of Newfoundland and Labrador.

This year’s EVA Awards jury reviewed submissions from across the province, representing a wide spectrum of artistic mediums and styles. Below are the shortlists for four of the six awards – the winners of the Tara Bryan Endurance Award (Prize $2000 – Sponsored by the Tara Bryan Legacy Fund and presented in partnership with CARFAC National) and Mary MacDonald Award (Prize: $1000 and an artwork by Erin St. John — Sponsored by Perfect Day) will be announced at the EVA ceremony. 

The Emerging Artist Award honors the promising start made by an emerging visual artist in the early stages of their career. Sponsored by Lat49 Architecture.  Prize: $2000

The Emerging Artist Award Shortlist

Ting Ting Chen

Tessa Graham


Sabrina Pinksen

The Milestone Award celebrates a visual artist who has, in the last calendar year, achieved a significant milestone in their career, through exhibition or presentation, a breakthrough in their practice, or new and innovative exploration.   Prize: $2000

The Milestone Award Shortlist

April Allen

Ting Ting Chen

Kelsey Street

The Critical Eye Award recognizes a visual arts writer for an exceptional piece of writing on a NL artist in any print or online publication worldwide.  Sponsored by Christina Parker Gallery.  Prize: $2000. 

The Critical Eye Award Shortlist

Emily Critch

Jaz Papadopoulos 

The Excellence in Fine Craft Award acknowledges individuals and groups who have made a significant contribution to the province’s craft culture in the past calendar year.  Sponsored by the College of the North Atlantic and the Craft Council of Newfoundland & Labrador.  Prize: $2000. 

The Excellence in Fine Craft Award Shortlist

Ashley Hemmings

Megan Samms

Nicole Travers

For more information or to arrange interviews, contact the VANL-CARFAC Office at or 709-738-7303

The EVA Awards are a Visual Artists Newfoundland and Labrador (VANL-CARFAC) initiative.