Winners announced for the 2018 Excellence in Visual Arts Awards



For immediate release:

ST. JOHN’S NL:  The thirteenth annual Excellence in Visual Arts Awards took place on June 1st at The Rooms, St. John’s, Newfoundland. The event was hosted by Angela Antle.  The EVA Awards are the only awards program solely dedicated to celebrating the work of the visual artists of Newfoundland and Labrador.

The Emerging Artist Award honours the promising start made by an emerging visual artist in the early stages of their career.  The Emerging Artist Award 2018 went to artist Meagan Musseau from the community of Curling in the Bay of Islands––Elamstukwek, Ktaqmkuk territory of Mi’kma’ki.  This award was sponsored by Grenfell Campus, Memorial University.

The Milestone Award celebrates a visual artist who has, in the last calendar year, achieved a significant milestone in their career, through exhibition or presentation, a breakthrough in their practice, or new and innovative exploration. This year’s Milestone Award went to Kippens-based artist Michael Massie–who, in 2017, was made a member of the Order of Canada.

The Mary MacDonald Award is named to honour NL’s beloved arts administrator, curator and writer Mary MacDonald, who passed away in 2017, and who demonstrated an unfailing belief and support for the work of artists and arts organizations as being absolutely necessary and essential to the wider community.  This award, sponsored in 2018 by Perfect Day Advertising, thanks to an individual or organization whose efforts have helped to sustain and build the visual arts sector.  The winner of this year’s Mary MacDonald Award is Eastern Edge Gallery.   

The Critical Eye Award celebrates the best piece of critical writing about an NL artist in any print or online publication worldwide. This year’s winner of the Critical Eye was David Garneau from Regina, Saskatchewan, for his essay “Jordan Bennetts (Re)Creative Research and Mi’kmaq Contemporary Art”
The Endurance Award recognizes the consistent dedication and commitment of an artist to their professional practice, and to sustained creative output and performance.  This year’s winner of the Endurance Award was artist and educator, Barb Hunt.

For more information or to arrange interviews, contact Program Coordinator, Shelby Millwater at or 709-738-7303.

The EVA Awards are a Visual Artists Newfoundland and Labrador initiative.