Excellence in Fine Craft Eligibility Criteria

The Craft Council of Newfoundland & Labrador and the College of the North Atlantic are happy to partner to present an Excellence in Fine Craft Award (EFC). This award is open to artists or group of artists at all stages of their career or organizations working towards promoting excellence in fine craft.

The EFC award is designed to acknowledge individuals and groups who have made a significant contribution to the province’s craft culture in the past calendar year.

The Excellence in Fine Craft Award will promote awareness and provide distinction for Fine Craft in Newfoundland and Labrador, invigorating and bringing awareness to deserving artists and their work.


Eligible Candidates will:
● Candidates must be a professional craft artist or a group of artists working in association who are engaged in fine craft.
● Have maintained a practice in their field over the past calendar year;
● have received recognition by their peers;
● Have made a substantial contribution to both the historical development and/or contemporary practice of their field; and
● And/or have made contributions toward a more equitable, diverse, and inclusive artistic ecosystem.
● All candidates must be living as of the nomination deadline date
● Artists are eligible for nomination at any stage of their career. (Students currently engaged in a training or undergraduate program are not eligible for nomination to the EFCA).

Submissions and Award Process

The applications and nominations process for the EFCA will be transacted as a part of the Excellence in Visual Arts Awards program and administered by Visual Artists of Newfoundland & Labrador (VANL-CARFAC). The nominations, submissions and adjudication process will follow the EVA awards guidelines, and be subject to VANL-CARFAC’s conflict of interest policy.

VANL-CARFAC will ensure that there will be at least one qualified craft artist or qualified representative of a craft organization with the necessary artists or curatorial experience, who will serve on the adjudicating jury for every year that the EFCA is presented as a part of the EVA awards program.