The 12th Annual EVA Awards


The VANL-CARFAC Excellence in Visual Arts (EVA) Awards celebrate the achievements of visual artists and recognize the significant contribution the visual arts make to the vibrant and dynamic culture of Newfoundland and Labrador. The 2017 EVA Awards will take place at The Rooms on May 26th, 2017  beginning at 8PM. Contact us to reserve your seat!


With the generous support of corporate and community partners, VANL-CARFAC created the annual EVA Awards in 2006 to highlight the creativity and long-term vision of this province’s artists:

The Long Haul Award, recognizes a substantial contribution to the visual culture of Newfoundland and Labrador by a senior artist.

The Large Year Award, celebrates a visual artist who has enjoyed an exceptional year, with at least one exhibition and critical recognition. 

The Emerging Visual Artist Award, honours the promising start made by an emerging visual artist in the early stages of their career. 

The Kippy Goins Award is named for the small pieces of wood one throws on a fire to “keep it going” . The award thanks an individual or organization whose efforts have helped to sustain and build the visual arts sector. 

The Critical Eye Award recognizes the impact that critical art writing can have on a visual artists’ career. Any writer worldwide who has written about a NL artist in any recognized print or online publication during the past calendar year is eligible for consideration.